Skip to content


Keep Up With What’s New

Bulgaria and Romania Set to Join the Schengen Area at the End of March

Starting March 31st 2024, Bulgaria and Romania will officially become part of the Schengen area, an area of free movement and travel without internal border controls.  The Schengen area is currently comprised of 27 European countries and will expand to 29 with the new additions.

Air and sea travel between Schengen countries will no longer require passport checks, but arrivals and departures to and from non-Schengen countries require full processing as normal.  Also, those entering Bulgaria and Romania by land border (road, train, bus, walking, etc.) will still be required to present passports and any other required travel documents.  The removal of land border controls is subject to future decision by the European Council.

The full list of Schengen area member countries will be:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria *
  • Croatia
  • Czechia
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania *
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

* Effective March 31, 2024

— — —

To learn more about FPI’s Compliance, Operations, Regulatory, and other Special Services Network (SSN) teams within FPI, please contact our Operations staff here at Flight Pro International.

Our success is your success! Partner with us today.

Back To Top